top of page

X's Legacy







Despite his substance abuse troubles X's words helped a lot of people. His death hurt for a myriad of reasons. We all either saw a version of ourself or a family member in him. "You change what you don't confront" except he never hid his struggles which is why so many gravitated towards him. In his song "Slippin":


I been through mad different phases like Masons To find my way and now I know that happy days are not far away If I'm strong enough I'll live long enough to see my kids Doing something more constructive with they time Than bids I know because I been there now I'm in there Sit back and look at what it took for me to get there First came the, the drama with my mama She got on some fly shit till I split And said that I'ma be that seed


It's lyrics like these where men can relate when their actions have led to unfavorable repercussions. X walked us through his journey of working out his demons which took courage. Many would've withheld this info because they don't want to look weak. Except no one questioned X's masculinity ever. He exuded a rawness that we won't for a while.


With his posthumous album "Exodus", is a very fitting title. The meaning of exodus means departure, he might've knew his time was coming and wanted to get his affairs in order. He even stated on "Drink Champs", that if he passed that day he was content. Even though I haven't heard the album yet, I foresee this being one of his best bodies of work. Whenever him and Swizz Beatz get together it's magical. "Exodus " drops on May 28,2021.



Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page