top of page

“What Goes Around, Comes Around”: BrokeTilFriday on Staying Relatable



When it comes to BrokeTilFriday’s music, there are three major keys: his harmonies, his realness, and his relatability. While the Los Angeles-born artist just started making music in August of last year, BrokeTilFriday is more than just an up-and-coming artist. He’s striving for greatness as he builds his audience, collaborates with more artists (already including G Perico), and releases more music and visuals for his fans to connect with and relate to, including his new hit singles “Unconditional” and “Back 2 Bowlero” on his latest EP “In My Feelings”. Now a little more than a year into his music career, Hip-Hop Basement had a chance to speak with him about his goals and principles, as well as the importance of giving back to the community. Read our conversation below!


Describe your style of music and image.

I’m fly, motivated, educated, and relatable. My music is real and full of harmony. I’m just a unique and original artist who is in love with being himself.

Where does your musical inspiration derive from, and when were you moved to be involved in music?

[My musical inspiration comes from] real life experiences: where I grew up, the environment I grew in, how I was raised, and who raised me. [I’m] just getting started. I was about 24 years old when I made the decision in my life to be involved in the music. I released my first few songs in August of 2020. It has been about 18 months since I started making music.

What is the audience you reach for?

People who can relate and people with different struggles all around the world. [My music] will motivate them to know that somebody with the same struggles can make it out. I feel like everyone can relate to being at their lowest point and striving for something better.

How have you contributed to your community and why is giving back to the community important?

[I’ve helped with] feeding the homeless in downtown LA, and when I was in prison, I fought fires all over southern California. It’s important to pay it forward, to give back to the community that you came from. It gives people hope to realize they can make it out too.


What advice do you have to youth who want to pursue a career in music?

Stay focused. Never give up on yourself— be yourself at all times.


Who have you worked with and who would you like to work with next?

[I’ve] worked with G Perico, owner of Enterprise clique, and would like to work Justin Bieber, Shawn Mendes, and Ed Sheeran.


Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

Performing in front of thousands of people at concerts and award shows, and creating a career making opportunities.


Is there a motto or quote that you live by?

“I’m broke til Friday”; “what goes around, comes around”; and “even when when you rich, play broke.”


You can watch BrokeTilFriday’s latest visual for “Back 2 Bowlero” below and stream the single on Spotify and Apple Music along with “Unconditional” on BrokeTilFriday’s latest EP “In My Feelings”! Don’t miss out— to stay up-to-date on BrokeTilFriday and his upcoming work, follow him on Instagram and Twitter @BrokeTilFriday4!



Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page