top of page

Interview: Tavonte Woods aka T.WOODS talks background and music career journey


Tavonte Woods is an independent rapper/singer to be on the lookout for. Originally from Minneapolis, Minnesota, he's creating his own lane and showing the world what he's capable of. He's definitely someone to keep on the radar this year, as he's been grinding and gaining a consistent fanbase. He's been able to release a few prominent projects under his belt and showcases his talents on every project. His catchy songs and unique wordplay set him apart from the crowd and show how he's able to switch things up on a regular basis.


With a voice that's easy to listen to, T.WOODS knows how to deliver a song to an audience. He's coming out the gate with some heat! Specifically, he recently dropped an EP called Life, which is a 5-track project that has a few different standouts on it -- including "Good run" ft. Mick Boulevard, and the lead track "Humble."


It's clear that his music comes from a real place. In a recent interview, Tavonte expanded on this topic and said that his upbringing has definitely played a role in the current music that he makes. It's generally about real life situations that he's gone through.


"Life situations dealing with friends and family members dying and in and out of jail helps me make good life related music, dealing with different type of females and getting hurt helps brings out the love and motivation music," Woods said.


Keep reading to learn more about him, follow him on the gram @tavontewoods, and stream Life below.


What city are you from/ Where are you based now?

I’m from Minneapolis, Minnesota. Back and forth from Mpls to LA.


What is your artist name? What is your real name? How did you get your artist name?

My name is Tavonte Woods and my artist name is T. WOODS Sometimes people have a hard time pronouncing Tavonte so I just cut it to T.WOODS.


At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music?

I’ve always had a passion for music, I was going into my freshman year of high school when I really started to start writing and recording.


How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you? 6. What ultimately inspired you to dedicate yourself to a music career?

One of the first times I did a performance just being on stage and vibing with the crowd and getting positive reaction/feedback from everyone really pushed me to go forward with pursuing music as my career.


What’s one reason you are passionate about music and what inspires you?

I used to want the diamonds and cars, and don’t get me wrong i’ll take it but my goal now is to inspire the youth in my music and push them away from drugs and guns I'm really trying to instill to these young ones that they are all kings and queens


Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page