top of page

Interview: Jetset Da Future Talks Background and Influences

Jetset's diverse and unique sound set him apart and pave his own lane.

Jetset Da Future is an independent artist from Atlanta, GA who makes chill/lofi and R&B-sounding music. His music journey wasn't intentional, according to him, but it became a space where he could express his emotions and feelings.


His music can be described as unique and vastly different. He truly creates his own lane within the music industry, as he raps and sings over a wide variety of beats and instruments that compliment his sound. When asked about how he got his start in the music industry, Jetset says that he didn't realize that he had what it took to pursue a career in music until his senior year of high school.


"I did a freestyle at the pep rally and everyone was hyped over it, the now-famous Lil Yachty was telling me 'bro you a legend, you finna blow up.'"


Some of his most recent fan favorites “Jet Skiii,” “WiFi LuV,” and” Aye Eye I,” are tracks that show off Jetset's skills and position him as an artist who doesn't play about his craft.


"They’re songs of me being 'in my feelings' because I want to express my love to a woman one day, but until that day comes I’m single and writing love songs," he said.


Keep reading to learn more about him, and follow him on the gram @jetsetrfuture.


What city are you from/ Where are you based now?

I’m from Atlanta, GA and that is where I’m currently based as well.


What is your artist name? What is your real name? How did you get your artist name?

I go by the stage name Jetset Da Future, but my real name is Dontavius Linwood.

My stage name comes from the video game Jet Set Radio Future, the soundtrack from the game is what inspired my name, because its music is so diverse and funky. If you ever get a chance. I highly suggest you play it, it’s for the OG Xbox.

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music?

Senior year of high school is when it hit me that I had what it takes to make music. I did a freestyle at the pep rally and everyone was hyped over it, the now famous Lil Yachty at the time was telling me “bro you a legend, you finna blow up." I also made a song using Mac Miller’s “Diablo” beat and my brother gassed me up on my bars.


Has your upbringing played a role in shaping who you are and defining your sound today? If so, how?

Yes, I was always an energetic, outgoing and creative child. I was introduced to various sounds growing up. Video game soundtracks definitely play a huge role in how my sound was formed. Adult swim bops, anime music and lofi music are in the mix as well.


How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you?

I’ve reinvented my sound over the years while making music. My current sound is chill/lofi and R&B sound. I bring the past with a splash of the future.


What ultimately inspired you to dedicate yourself to a music career?

My brothers and cousin telling me that I have something in music that a lot of artists don’t have.


What’s one reason you are passionate about music and what inspires you?

Music is a universal language. It has helped me through the darkest of times, it’s helped me express my love for myself and others around me. There’s multiple things that inspire me, the top two things being my daughter and the fact that I’ve had listeners tell me that my music has saved them from self harming and ending their lives and keeps them pushing forward in life.





Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page