top of page

Barbie Dreams: She’s just playing...but what is she really saying?

The self deemed queen of rap, Nicki Minaj, just dropped her long awaited album Queen. It is no secret that leading up to this album, Nicki has faced a lot of scrutiny for her lack of material and quality lyrics on her features thus far. However, on the third track of “Queen”, Nicki unleashed the beast, giving back the same energy the naysayers claim she lost over the years. She names this cover of Notorious BIG's "Just Playin", “Barbie Dreams”.

In this song, Nicki takes shots at Drake, 50 cent, 6ix9ine and a plethora of other male rappers she has encountered. She even took a shot at her ex Meek Mill as she states in the first verse, “Meek still be in my DM’s I be having to duck em, I used to pray times like this face a** when I f**k em”. Nicki uses the chorus to ensure everyone she is just saying all these things jokingly by simply stating “I’m just playing...but I’m saying”. The but is what’s leaving us to question if Nicki is hiding a lot of truth behind these crude jokes and also makes us wonder if those getting joked on are laughing along with her. Here are a list of the song’s best shots fired: 1. I tried to f**k 50 for a powerful hour, But all that n*gga wanna do is talk power for hours 2. Drake worth a hundred milli, always buying me sh*t, But I don’t know if the p*ssy wet or if he crying and sh*t 3. Man Uzi is my baby he ain’t taking an L, But he took it literally when I said go to hell 4. And I would’ve had Odell Beckham banging the cake, Til I saw him hopping out of cars dancing to Drake 5. Had to cancel DJ Khaled ,boy, we ain’t speaking, Ain’t no Fat n*gga telling me what he ain’t eating

Click the image below to check out "Barbie Dreams"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page